FG reopens borders after three years


The Federal Government has approved the reopening of four land borders which were shut down in August 2019.

Recall that the President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration closed major borders as part of efforts to curtail smuggling and boost local production of rice and other products.

The government, however, on December 16, 2020, approved the reopening of some of the borders, including Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders.

Similarly, a circular issued on Friday by the Deputy Comptroller-General of the Customs Service, E. I. Edorhe said Idiroko border post in Ogun State, Kamba border post in Kebbi State, Jibiya border post in Katsina State and Ikom border post in Cross River State have been reopened.

“Consequently, all Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines”, the statement added.

Previous Article

Transcorp’s earnings hits N111.2bn in 2021

Next Article

2023 presidency: I’m not a party to Northern consensus arrangement – Atiku

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.