Industry agog as MARAN 34th Anniversary holds December 9


There is palpable excitement in the Maritime industry as the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) is set to hold its 34th anniversary and awards on the 9th of December 2022 at  the prestigious Providence Hotel, GRA, Ikeja.

The event with the theme; “16 Years of Port Concession; The Pains and the Gains,” is to be chaired by Dr Ade Dosunmu, former Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA).

Time for the event and Gala is slated for 4pm Prompt.

Chairman Planning Committee of MARAN At 34 Anniversary, Mr Dapo Olawuni said the Chief Guest of Honour, Honourable Minister of Transportation, Eng Muazu Jaji Sambo has indicated his interest to personally attend the function and meet with the crème-de-la-crème of the maritime industry.

“I would not want to miss the event because Maritime sector is my first love, and MARAN is my immediate constituency” the Minister said.

The association announced that minister would be bestowed with the prestigious “DIAMOND AWARD at the epoch making event.

The 34th anniversary and Awards 2022 of MARAN is expected to be attended by over 250 maritime industry professionals; cutting across the maritime agencies, terminal operators, security agencies, international and domestic companies operating in Nigeria.

Expected to also bag awards at the MARAN night of honor includes; Chairman of SIFAX Group, Dr Taiwo Afolabi, Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) Dr Bashir Jamoh, Capt Emmanuel Iheanacho, Chairman of Genesis Worldwide Shipping, Princess Dr Vicky Haastrup, Chairperson, Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN)

Others are; Presidential flag bearer of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso, Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Col Hameed Ali, Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) Brig Gen Buba Marwa (Rtd) Founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) Dr Boniface Aniebonam, former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA) Prince Olayiwola Shittu as well as the Chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) Tsanni Abubakar.

Other notable stakeholders to bag the MARAN prestigious awards are; Customs Area Controller, Apapa Customs Command, Compt Yusuf Malanta, Chairman of Wealthy Honey Nigeria Limited, Dr Kayode Farinto, the Iyalaje Kano and Chairman of Bomarah Group, Hajia Bola Muse, President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, frontline Shipowner, Alhaji Aminu Umar.

Others are; Lagos State Waterways Authority (LASWA) Customs Area Controller, Onne Customs Command, Compt Auwal Mohammed, National Cordinator of 100% Compliance Team of NAGAFF, Alhaji Tanko Ibrahim, former Executive Director Finance and Administration of NPA, Mr Olumide Oduntan.

Companies and government agencies that are billed to clinch awards includes; Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) APM Terminals Apapa, Tolaram Group, proponents of the Lekki Deep Seaport, frontline logistics firm; Settle Systems Nigeria Limited, Grimaldi Shipping Nigeria Limited among others.

The lead paper for the event would be delivered by Barr Hassan Bello, immediate past Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers Council while the Managing Director of NPA, Mohammed Bello-Koko, Mrs Jean Chiazor Anishere, Managing Director of Trucks Transit Park Limited (PTT) Jama Onwubuariri and Registrar of NAGAFF Academy, Mr Francis Omotosho would discuss the paper.

Apart from these, all the maritime agencies, including: NPA, NIMASA, National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA), Nigeria Shippers Council (NSC), terminal operators; including TICT Terminal, PTML Terminal, APM Terminals among others have all expressed their desire to be fully involved in the one-day MARAN anniversary and awards,

The committee stated that the conference with the theme: ’16 Years of Port Concession: The Pains and The Gains’ would provide ample opportunity for notable maritime experts and professionals to speak on critical issues affecting the port since 2006.

The planning committee noted that the MARAN Awards come once in a decade and the last edition was held in December 2013.

MARAN is the foremost maritime media association which was formed in November 1988 and has since then remained the umbrella body of all journalists posted to cover or report the activities of the nation’s shipping and allied business.


Previous Article

16.5% interest rate: Private sector predicts factories shutdown, higher bad loans

Next Article

PAN Niger Delta commends FG for suspending plans to terminate amnesty programme

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.